News - MEDIA

4 National Student Media Award Nominations

4 National Student Media Award Nominations

Congratulations to Sean Cunningham for winning a SMEDIA last night at the National Student Media Awards. He won with his delightful short animation Bugg and Mr Hill. This win follows his winning not one, but three, awards at the recent Dingle Film Festival.

Best Short Animation

BCFE dominated the Best Short Animation category as our David Delaney and Hannah Cleary were also shortlisted.

Short Film of the Year

Other SMEDIA nominees included BCFE’s Richard Barragry for Short Film of the Year.

TV Production of the Year

John Murphy has also been nominated for TV Production of the Year.


The journalism students made the college very proud for securing nominations in three categories:

  • Ruairi O’Hehir for Editor of the Year
  • Kevin Gillespie for Newspaper Layout and Design and
  • the BCFE Bulletin for Best Small College Publication

We’d like to congratulate them one and all for securing nominations and receiving the industry recognition for the hard work they put into their respective creative media projects and wishing them all the best in their future careers.

« Back to all news